Michael Donovan Was Here…

Cool Mike: I'll Make Your Life Smack Goody-Style!

It’s My First Birthday!!!

leave a comment »


Today is my one year anniversary in New York! It’s a birthday!!!

Rewind a year ago and here’s the picture:
• I hadn’t shot anyone in almost a year
• I didn’t know more than 1 or 2 people in New York
• I hadn’t been published in almost a year
• I could only get male modeling agencies to return my phone calls and and only one actually sent me models (I didn’t start shooting the girls until July)
• I was mega fat
• It was a challenge to find people who cared about my work
• My client list from Chicago was pretty much depleted, leaving me without clients

Fast forward to today:
• I’m shooting for magazines in the US and China
• I have an amazing team of hair, makeup, and wardrobe stylists stretched around the globe
• I have a great group of progressive friends
• I am working with the best agencies in the city
• I have a growing stable of art buyers in New York and the West Coast
• I’m shooting more of what I want, how I want, when I want
• I’ve trimmed down considerably
• I get calls all the time asking about my work; people call me to ask if they can work with me, for me, or to hire me!
• I have a growing client list

This last year has been great. I’ve learned a lot about myself, people, art, fashion and the world. I have some ambitious goals on my plate and I plan on completing every one of them!

Thanks to everyone who has offered support over the past 12 months.

Written by Michael Donovan

01/05/2010 at 11:10 am

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

