Michael Donovan Was Here…

Cool Mike: I'll Make Your Life Smack Goody-Style!

Artist: Stephen Talasnik

leave a comment »

I set out tonight to catch up on all the new art and “discovered” Stephen Talasnik on the 2nd floor of Marlborough gallery. I have never been to a show at Marlborough I haven’t liked (well, there was one but I’ll let that ride since they’ve been consistent every other time and I actually get sad when I see their lights out while walking 25th). I can’t explain Talasnik’s work- it just makes sense to me. Here are a few pictures I’ve found online of his work:


Odalisque – one of my favorite pieces of his

They were also showing work by Magdalena Abakanowicz which looked surprisingly similar to Antony Gormley’s work so I didn’t stick around very long for that. Instead I ran to see Gormley’s “Breathing room II” piece and meet him at the Sean Kelly Gallery on 29th where I also caught up with my friend Kayla.

Abakanowicz

Gormley

hmmm…… they’re both completely different artists with different intentions but their work feels pretty similar in some ways.

Written by Michael Donovan

26/03/2010 at 12:27 am

Posted in art

Leave a Reply

