Michael Donovan Was Here…

Cool Mike: I'll Make Your Life Smack Goody-Style!

Thank God for MeMe Roth

leave a comment »

I started to notice MeMe Roth on different news segments fairly frequently lately. She founded National Action Against Obesity. The mission is simple:

National Action Against Obesity is a non-partisan, all-volunteer advocacy group dedicated to reversing the obesity crisis by eliminating disease- and obesity-accelerators from the food supply; barring junk food from child care centers, preschools, and schools; and eradicating Secondhand Obesity™ (obesity handed down from one generation to the next, as well as from citizen to citizen); while encouraging exercise across all ages. Success relies upon wholly re-imagining what the U.S. population considers “normal” food consumption and “normal” exercise. When the majority is overweight, America cannot be normal.

MeMe is a breath of fresh air. She makes it clear: childhood obesity is child abuse. The pro-fat movement is madness. She is up front and will tell you that the best way to help is to constantly call people out on their b.s.. I’ve watched several clips of her and I absolutely adore the wit she employs when delivering her message and reeducating a nation.

I got lazy and fell out of shape. I didn’t take care of myself for a while and now I am repairing the damage I created. The repairs are work but it’s work I enjoy doing. As a former fatty- I think it is great that she is being as aggressive as she is. I’ve decided to join the movement. I want a fit future for myself and for the people on our planet. People around me know that I like to pick good fights so expect to see me pick this fight more and more.

Here is her blog. And her Twitter. And here is an enjoyable video.

Thanks, again, MeMe!

Written by Michael Donovan

18/02/2010 at 1:32 pm

Posted in Culture

Leave a Reply

