Michael Donovan Was Here…

Cool Mike: I'll Make Your Life Smack Goody-Style!

Art & Fashion is getting harder for me to digest

leave a comment »

I want to block my eyes from most things being pumped out or accepted in mainstream society right now.

This week I went to the galleries to see what is new. It was truly NOT a good week for art. I am not going to name names but there was one gallery with extremely AWFUL work: macro photos of Lilly's on one wall, paintings of roses on another. There is no wonder why they were handing out pitchers of wine and keeping cheeses fully stocked. TACKY.

I look at fashion magazines and blogs where I run in to similar junk: people just being quixotic. Fashion photography is held up by the strength of just a few leaders but the limbs are all dead. There is no substance or meaning. But, then again, maybe fashion has always been that way and I just never looked at it with that opinion.

In the end, it is harder for me to consume this stuff. I consume art, literature, fashion and music because I want something that will change me. I like taking in products that actually open my mind and assist me in changing my mental or spiritual shape.

I was contacted by a magazine this week and they wanted me to hash out a fashion story. Their idea was trite and has been produced at least a dozen times. I decided to put a twist on the concept and bring in elements of modern slavery and discuss obsessions with the story. I told them I would only do it if I could treat their audience like adults. They were hesitant but went along with it. The reason American magazines are dying is simple: they are not treating their viewers with art or fashion photography that actually challenges them. They are forcing rainbows in to our eyes rather than passing a cup of acid.

Personally, I am on a mission to produce work that actually has substance. I don’t feel the need to pump out piece after piece after piece. It would be nice to be able to work hard and earn a nice home but I would be just as happier if I could produce work that inspired peace or social equality. I find a social issue and I tackle it with my work. Or I get an assignment and I find a way to tackle a problem. But making art just to fill a page, to “look like fashion/art” is beyond stupid and I am quickly losing patience and respect for anyone who does that.

Written by Michael Donovan

15/11/2009 at 1:17 pm

Posted in art, fashion

Leave a Reply

