Michael Donovan Was Here…

Cool Mike: I'll Make Your Life Smack Goody-Style!

RIP Irving Penn

leave a comment »

Link: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/08/arts/design/08penn.html

It’s a sad day. Irving Penn has passed away. This will be old news by the time most people find it on my blog; but right now it is pure sadness. Irving Penn changed the world and it will never be the same thanks to him.

Irving Penn is a God of photography. I have spent days worth of time studying his work and his life. It is impossible for me to shoot with a strobe in a studio without thinking “What would Irving Penn do?” Look closely at my still life and you will see heavy influences of his work. He was a master. I listed him as my favorite fashion photographer a while back. The best part of his work is that he treated fashion photography as a fine art.

Written by Michael Donovan

07/10/2009 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

